

Market Notice

Number: A1310A

Date: 22 October 2010

Statutory measure to collect a sorghum levy in terms of the Marketing of Agricultural Products Act

Since the introduction of the sorghum futures contract, it has become necessary to clarify the process regards the collection of the sorghum levy.

Further to the above, the Sorghum Trust (Registration no I TRUST 9221/97) has agreed to collect the published sorghum levy in a similar fashion as the wheat levy with specific reference to Safex silo receipts issued.

Although specific to winter cereals, the same process will be applied to sorghum as defined in Government Notice no R.727 dated 20 August 2010 - a copy is also attached to the market notice.

In summary, the sorghum levy in respect to Safex silo receipts issued for product produced locally (the Safex contract only allows for South African origin product) will be payable by the person issuing the Safex silo receipt and in turn this may be recovered from the person to whom the receipt was issued.

For any further concerns, please contact the Administrator or visit the website, details below:

Administrator: Mr Leon du Plessis Email: <u>I-lagric@mweb.co.za</u> Tel: +27 12 807 3958 / 807 4191 Web: <u>www.sorghumsa.co.za</u>

The JSE values and appreciates the support of the Sorghum Trust and all JSE Approved Silo Owners who have registered sorghum delivery points, through agreeing to this process, ensure the efficient collection of the statutory levies.



Designation Senior General Manager

Division Commodity Derivatives Division

Tel +27 11 520 7258
Fax +27 11 520 7558
E-mail address: rodgb@jse.co.za



JSE Limited Registration Number: 2005/022939/06
One Exchange Square, Gwen Lane, Sandown, South Africa.
Private Bag X991174, Sandton, 2146, South Africa. Telephone:

+27 11 520 7000, Facsimile: +27 11 520 8584, www.jse.co.za

Executive Directors: RM Loubser (CEO), NF Newton-King, F Evans (CFO), JH Burke, LV Parsons Non-Executive Directors: HJ Borkum (Chairman), AD Botha, ZL Combi, MR Johnston, DM Lawrence, W Luhabe, A Mazwai, NS Nematswerani, N Nyembezi-Heita, N Payne, G Serobe Alternate Director: J Berman

Distributed by the Company Secretariat +27 11 520 7591