

# **Market Notice**

Number:	A1847 A
Date	22 July 2013

## Update to the Agricultural Derivatives Contract Specifications

Please find attached a copy of the updated contract specifications for the agricultural derivative products listed. A summary of the updates are as follows:

- Following extensive market consultation, Appendix C specific to the requirements for Silo Owners has been amended. Please note Silo Owners are now referred to as Storage Operators due to the diverse storage operations registered with the JSE. The key updates made are specific to:
  - o sections 1.6 -further enhancements were made to clarify the process in the event of a dispute
  - o section 4.2 was introduced
  - o section 5.6 in terms of monthly reporting requirements was also further clarified
  - section 8 was enhanced to confirm the maximum waiting period once out loading instructions have been requested to 10 business days

Storage Operators provided comment regarding the proposed changes and have all agreed to the changes going forward.

- Published price limits were updated as per previous market notices
- Changes to the soya bean contract size was also acknowledged
- Position limits applicable to sunflower seeds and sorghum were updated based on the current underlying crop size
- Finally Appendix I was updated as per previous market notices

If there are any questions regarding any of the updates please feel free to contact myself or Raphael Karuaihe on +27 11 520 7258.

### **Chris Sturgess**

Designation	Director
Division	Commodity Derivatives
Tel	+27 11 520-7299
Fax	+27 11 520-7558
E-mail address:	chriss@jse.co.za

### Distributed by the Company Secretariat +27 11 520 7346



#### JSE Limited Registration Number: 2005/022939/06

One Exchange Square, Gwen Lane, Sandown, South Africa. Private Bag X991174, Sandton, 2146, South Africa. Telephone: +27 11 520 7000, Facsimile: +27 11 520 8584, www.jse.co.za

**Executive Directors:** NF Newton-King (CEO), A Takoordeen (CFO)

Non-Executive Directors: HJ Borkum (Chairman), AD Botha, MR Johnston, DM Lawrence, A Mazwai, Dr. MA Matooane, NP Mnxasana, NS Nematswerani, N Nyembezi-Heita, N Payne Alternate Directors: JH Burke, LV Parsons Company Secretary: GC Clarke