Industry Classification Benchmark (ICB) is a globally utilized standard for the categorization and comparison of companies by industry and sector. It is the official sector classification used across FTSE Russell indices for analysis, attribution and performance measurement.
The FTSE Russell ICB structure is used by the JSE to classify all JSE listed instruments which also includes instruments that are not index constituents.

ICB is widely adopted by global institutional clients and has many application use cases:

Asset managers
Sector exposure analysis, strategy execution and attribution reporting.

Data providers
A reference data map allowing systems to categorize, manage and follow companies by industry.

Used by global exchanges to categorize listing companies. London Stock Exchange, NYSE Euronext, NASDAQ OMX, Johannesburg Stock Exchange, Borsa Italiana, Athens Exchange, Cyprus Stock Exchange, and Boursa Kuwait.

Kindly refer to the FTSE Russell website for further details:

The current comprehensive and relevant taxonomy consists of a four-tier structure:

• 11 Industries 
• 20 Supersectors 
• 45 Sectors
• 173 Subsectors 

Should you have any queries, please email
[email protected]

 Presentations & Other Documents

ICB Services Documentation

 BDA Dissemination

 BDA Test Files

 Equity Dissemination

 Equity NLMD Test Files

 Value-Add and Intraday Snapshots Products

 Value-Add and Intra-day Snapshots Test Files


 Fixed Width Files

 CSV Files

 Indices Test Files